Homemade Bread! And the Scotiabank Half

June 28, 2010 at 5:38 pm 3 comments

The night before the Scotiabank Half was spent as all pro runners surely prepare for races- by baking my very first batch of homemade bread! Amelia’s mum was kind enough to share her recipe (best part about this is the lack of formal recipe) and give us a step by step tutorial in mixing and kneading. This was surprisingly relaxing and I think helped keep the race nerves at bay! The apartment soon smelled amazing and we had about 6 loaves to show for all Ms. Fraser’s our hard work! Yes, we made enough bread to feed a large army, or a small marathon clinic. The fruits of our labour were delicious!

I woke up the next day feeling sufficiently carb-loaded after bread-fest 2010, although the 5:25 alarm felt shockingly close to when I went to bed. The Scotiabank offers a 5km and a half marathon option, with the half starting at UBC and ending at Stanley Park, covering ground we have pounded many times over in the marathon clinic. I was so thankful we were running down the hill from UBC to Spanish Banks rather than up!

I had set a tentative goal for myself to finish in 1:45, but also wanted to make sure I paced properly and stayed conservative at the start. The first 5km or so were a couple of loops around the UBC campus, similar to the route we followed last week at the Longest Day 10k. I stayed relaxed and kept my pace around 4:56/km. The next 5km were essentially downhill, and I tried to use this time to recharge my batteries and thought about Dave’s advice to ‘run the tangents’ as we twisted our way down towards the seawall. At the 10k mark I was at 49:15, so on track for my goal if I could keep the pace.

I couldn’t! Kilometers 10-15 are a bit of a blur, but I do remember thinking, “Who the heck told me this race was downhill?” as we climbed from Jericho Beach up to West 4th Ave around 14km. I definitely hit a mental lull during kilometers 15 and 18, so close to being done, but suddenly felt so far! Somewhere in here I saw Andrea cheering, which kept my feet moving forward- THANK YOU so much, Andrea- much needed at that time and appreciated! I tried to think about form and just getting done, but all I wanted was a walk break!

I see some uphills in there...

Hitting Burrard Bridge felt like a rematch, after it most definitely destroyed me at the marathon. It’s so weird how it gets steeper on race days. I repeated, “little steps, little steps” to myself as I made my way up.

I think I finally picked it up again on the way down the bridge and managed to pass a few people. Although I knew I missed my goal at this point, I still wanted a strong finish. I was so thrilled to see Alan coming towards me just before km 20 to help pace me to the finish. I am so sorry, friend, that I couldn’t even talk! Seeing Alan definitely picked me up, and I kept thinking, “Come on, GO, you can do anything for a kilometer!”, and tried to keep up with Alan, even though I felt like I might be about to revive my elementary school cross-country nickname, “Throw-up Girl.” Figure that one out on your own. Alan- THANK YOU so much for coming back for me!

I crossed the line in 1:48.25, with an av pace of 5:07. Although I missed my goal, I’ll take the PB! I was 34th out of 386 in our age group.

Lessons learned: I LIVE for walk breaks on my long runs, and am going to cut them down on upcoming Sunday long runs. Also, I NEED to work on my back end of races- mentally and physically! I don’t think I went out too hard, I think I just need to close the (huge) gap between my splits. ALSO, I have awesome running buddies. Ok this is not a lesson learned, as I already knew this. A big CONGRATS to meme and aly-cat, who both ran incredible races with super fast times.

As we were across town, we took the opportunity to brunch at a new spot, the Sylvia Hotel on English Bay, before heading home for a freezing cold shower and sitting around with a bag of frozen peas on my foot.

Now that the half is out of the way, I sort of feel a bit relieved- like the weird murky time is over and marathon training can begin in earnest. Can’t believe we’re already in Week 4?!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Oh hey taper “Tracking” my progress

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alan Yu  |  June 30, 2010 at 7:31 am

    Nice race! No worries about not talking to me, happens all the time when I pick a girl up 🙂 I just wished I had gotten a chance to pace you longer along the way. Next time!

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea  |  June 30, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Congrats on a great run Amelia! Asian style peace sign all the way.

    Reply
  • 3. Andrea  |  June 30, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    OMG, I’m posting the comments on the wrong blogs. Aaahhh….I don’t think I’m technologically advanced enough to have my own blog. Here’s your comment:

    Yay to PBs! Good job Care. I’ll be your cheer leader anytime (anytime, I can’t run with you of course!)

    Please disregard the other one (and delete)…clearly you are friend twins.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Carolyn

Tweetle dee, Tweetle dum

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


