Blogging is hard when you’re really busy

July 26, 2010 at 7:49 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been a huge running blog (and life) slacker lately. I feel like I can only focus on one hard thing at a time, and the mental marathon takes precedence. Just so I don’t fall too too far behind, here are last week’s miles-

Wednesday– Without Dave, the marathon ladies and I acted like a bunch of rebellious teens with parents out of town and only ran 7 km ish instead of 10… we are so bad! It was a lovely, relaxed run on the seawall to Cambie bridge and back. Great to have Andrea back in action!

Thursday: HILLS HILLS HILLS (sung to the Destiny’s Child hit Bills Bills Bills circa grade 10… sidenote: did anyone else find that song completely offensive? Why would I expect my boyfriend to pay my bills?) Anyway… we hit the King Ed hill between Arbutus and Angus for 6 repeats. This was killer! I think my feet are getting “scarier,” but who knows. I also ate a huge meal right before- see Aly’s and Evy’s blogs for common themes- which was absolutely not ideal. I ran the entire way with ironwoman Carissa and her awesome toesocks (need a pair)- thanks for the push girl!

I didn’t make it out again until Sunday, but this was the best run i’ve had in awhile. We hit the UBC trails for 23km of urban adventure dedicated to none other than Alan ‘SAS’ Yu, and it was so great to be out of the heat in the shade! Brunch was at Ousi on Granville, where I am most def ordering a basket of cornbread next time.

Another fun thing I did this week was volunteer at a ‘yogathon’ fundraiser for a camp for kids with HIV/AIDS called Camp Moomba. It was hundreds of people, all doing yoga, in a field at UBC. So fun, eh? Definitely inspired me to (think about) get(ting) back into yoga after a 1.5 year hiatus.

I also made a bunch of vegetarian food, took photos of it, and ate it. And it was good.

carroty sprouty spinach on sprouted wheat bagel with hummus.

tomatoey chickpea sprouty mix

vegan pizza with homegrown basil! visible smudge on camera lens from dropping in a bowl of hummus...

i can't really remember what was in here. spinach banana almond milk smoothie with a bunch of stuff on top

Oh! And I found out one of my very best friends from uni has a food blog!

Jenn your pics are beautiful! Speaking of beautiful pics, here’s a gem from Sackville Summer 2006…

So glad we didn't know about blogs in the GIS lab. I miss you!

Ok that’s all for now. I’ll be missing the next few group runs, but am hoping to get in a couple good ones with some old running buddies from Halifax when I get to Ottawa for my big sis’s wedding! Yay reunions!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Summer Fast, Some are slow Catching up…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Carolyn

Tweetle dee, Tweetle dum

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


