Babe Patrol

August 11, 2010 at 10:47 am 7 comments

Into the wild...

On Sunday we skipped the long run with the marathon crew to head up to Squamish and watch the Stormy Ultra trail race, in which Dave was competing in the 50 mile division. 50 miles is something I could not quite get my head around before witnessing it- TWO consecutive marathons?? We took our time getting out of Van, meeting at Starbucks and chatting over coffee, all the while the crazy ultra marathoners had been running since we were fast asleep in our comfy beds!

Our first stop on the cheering squad tour was a gravel forestry road just before Squamish, where Alan put us lazy ladies to shame by taking off on a run to meet up with Dave. This was a pretty humbling race to watch, as there were clearly long stretches where the runners were pretty much going solo. I think one thing about races that really keeps me going is the forward momentum of everyone else around you, but we were seeing one or two runners go by every few minutes, most of whom were competing in the relay division of the race.

We cheered our little hearts out when we saw Dave and Alan approaching, and I couldn’t believe he was only just past halfway! I will never be this hard core! Once Dave was on his way, Alan further rubbed it in our faces that we’re extremely lazy, setting out on a 23km portion of the race while we hit the local timmy hos. Knowing that watching other people run an extreme distance would be strenuous, and because I have a fear of going place without snacks, I brought along some homemade larabars (caro-bars?) and carrot cake cookies.

Cookie dough caro-bars

I’m a huge fan of larabars‘ short ingredient list (most of them consist of only dates and nuts) so I figured they would be pretty easy to make. I followed this recipe from peas and thank you, and they came out really soft and chewy, I think due to the high date-to-almond ratio.

I based the cookie recipe on this adaptation from Fitnessista, using apple sauce and a couple pureed dates instead of butter, and a combo of raw cane sugar and maple syrup for the sugar.

Back to the race. After refueling, we waited at a relay take-over and aid station for our next Dave sighting. This was positioned at the crest of a steep hill, and looked so so HARD. I have so much respect for these runners, as the sun was blazing and we were working up a sweat literally standing still. It was pretty easy at this point to pick the relay runners out from those going the full distance, as most ultra racers were understandably looking pretty rough by now. But it was so inspiring to see them continue to somehow put one foot in front of the other (quickly!) and carry on. Relentless forward motion indeed.

After this aid station Dave only had 12 km to go, so we hiked back to the cars and made our way to the finish. This was so exciting! We flocked the first person to finish that we sort of knew, Dario who runs out of Broadway, and overheard someone say, “Check out Dario with the ‘babe patrol.’ He meant you, too, Alan. Great job Dario! It was awesome to see Dave come around the corner and cross the finish line, and so inspiring as we knew his hip was protesting his decision to run. GREAT JOB Dave and CONGRATULATIONS on such a courageous run!

While I can’t say watching this race has put any desire to run an ultra in my heart, I would be keen to do a relay! Watching these teams finish was so fun! The one thing that does appeal to me about the ultra distances is that the race seems like a mission where making it to the end is the most important goal. I think in (relatively) shorter distances there is this frenzied feeling of needing to go faster faster faster but in ultras it seems to be more about strategy and being smart about how to use and conserve your energy. Obviously I could be way off since I’ve never run an ultra, and after this weekend, the total I have watched is 1!

Some ‘Lessons Learned’… even though I was only watching

1. As per our discussions throughout the day, we need a team name and uniforms. I am partial to Babe Patrol, and after seeing one of the relay runners finish in what appeared to be an awesome summer sun dress, I suggest we look for something along those lines? This is advantageous as we can also wear them at Library Square ;). I am being serious.
2. Trail runners are a really cool community of people- everyone I saw either participating in the race, helping out, or cheering created such a positive, supportive atmosphere.
3. Ultramarathons are totally humbling. As much as I bitch and moan about how hard our runs are, watching this race really showed me you CAN keep going throughout adversity. These runners are so physically and mentally tough, and they are regular people! Once again I am amazed at what you can train your body and mind to do!

Phew long post. One more thing, check this out-

http://thechronicleherald.ca/Business/1196223.html

Dave makes the national Globe and Mail for teaching people how to run, my picture makes the Halifax Chronicle Herald for foolishly hiking where coyotes are known to attack. Same same?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

MCAT Mac ‘n ‘Cheeze’ Sympathy Pains

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Evelyn  |  August 11, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    so fun!! h to h relay here we come!! we should bring cardboard cutouts of alycat and mems to run with!! haha

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea  |  August 11, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Nice post Care! Thanks for the yummy treats on Sunday.

    I’m all ready to captain our Haney to Harrison Babe Patrol relay team. We just need to find some dresses and some more babes.

    Reply
  • 3. theroadtoboston  |  August 12, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Also, I’m stealing the last photo for my fb profile pic! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Stormy in Squamish | Alanecdotes  |  September 1, 2010 at 3:10 am

    […] up to Squamish to watch Dave run 50 miles on a sore hip has been well documented (see here, here, here, and here). But I got a chance to run a small section of the 50 mile course, and I must say it […]

    Reply
  • 5. Introducing the Babe Patrol | Broadway Run Club  |  September 15, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    […] As the story goes, the girls — and Alan — were looking for an excuse for a road trip and headed up to Squamish in August to watch me race in the Stormy 50-miler. After seeing me pass the Powerhouse aid station a little after the halfway mark and solidly in third place, the girls headed back into town to grab lunch before heading to the finish line to celebrate with me. The only hitch was that Dario passed me late in the race and beat me to the cheers and adulation by a few minutes. Standing around at an ultra for hours waiting for runners to come in can be challenging and naturally spectators are always looking for an excuse to cheer, so when the girls saw someone they actually knew, they, in Carolyn‘s words, “flocked to him,” prompting one bystander to remark, “Check out Dario with the babe patrol.” And so the Babe Patrol was born. Dario’s Babe Patrol. […]

    Reply
  • 6. Dario  |  September 15, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    haaaaa,, some story, cheers to the new born Babe Patrol , it is great happiness to me seeing you cheering on the finish line at any race even, hopefully there are more moment in the coming even to celebrate and cheer happiness, Aloha Babe Patrol 😉

    Reply
  • 7. It’s official… « The Road to Boston  |  September 16, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    […] the full story of the origin of the name, please see Care’s post here or the Cole’s notes version by Dave […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Carolyn

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


