Pier Pressure

August 29, 2010 at 9:53 pm 3 comments

Nags Head Pier, NC

Wishing I was here

or at home at Martinique or L-town for a body bash in this…

hello, Danielle

Although I haven’t been getting rocked by waves in the north Atlantic from a weakening hurricane, my body feels sufficiently bashed after today’s 32 km to New West. Andrea recently wrote about peer pressure from friends and how she feels better running the morning after a few jaggerbombs.  I think this technique only works for me if I manage to still be drunk by the time the morning run rolls around. I have been one boozey floozey lately, and this morning’s run following a friend’s birthday at the Alibi Room was a painful reminder that I might need to instate a sober saturday rule of my own. There is no way I could have gotten through this run solo, and was thankful for our extended pit stops at Science World and along the way.  In the end we found our way to the Paddlewheeler Pub for about 31.7 km in about 3 hours (forgot to trun the garm back on after one of our breaks). Love the destination run!

Backing up to earlier in the week- Wednesday brought a regular run club 10k, while Thursday brought the dreaded “fun” run 5k to mark the beginning of speed work. I really empathized with Evie‘s post about racing- I definitely struggle with nerves and negative self talk when it comes to competing. I can’t even identify what it is I feel anxious about, but racing brings me so much anxiety sometimes that my goals shift  from a certain time standard, to survival mode where all I care about is getting through it and finishing. What can’t I get over this? What do I think is going to happen to me? Haven’t I been in enough races that it should be no big deal by now? I ended up finishing the 5k in 21:57 a 4:23/km pace (although my Garmin measured just short of 5k- just smart racing, right?). When I got home I checked my time during the last clinic, which was a 23:20. I’m happy with the unofficial PB, relieved it’s over, and feel reasurred that McMillan still has faith in me…

Friday (before a snack feast with Aly and Evie and a sweaty dance floor sesh- LOVE 90s night), I had a very leisurely 13.18 k to “stonehenge” and back. Time: 1:11.34; Av pace: 5.26/km.

Some exciting things coming up this week, like hitting the Grind on Wednesday, our first track sesh on Thursday, and some potential baking adventures!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Scenic hike recap, 32 km, and a goodbye (for now) And then there were three

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amelia  |  August 30, 2010 at 3:08 am

    The Inside Man – Part 6 – The End
    As early as age 10, kids feel pressure to have a “perfect body”
    squash me, squeeze me

    Those are the possible related posts to yours.

    Squash me, squeeze me? is there something you aren’t telling me care?
    Today my co-teacher said wow, it’s crazy how alike you and your sister look. Had to tell him you weren’t my sister. he was shocked. Showed him a pic of my real sisters and he was like no i can’t look, it’s too much. Oh China.

    Reply
  • 2. theroadtoboston  |  August 30, 2010 at 11:26 am

    You did awesome yesterday for being hung-over!! There were some killer hills out there. I’m looking forward to a fun week.

    Reply
  • 3. Evelyn  |  August 30, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    i’m worried that you’re going to get sick of me real soon. haha…. see you wed for some grinding. great job on the run yesterday! was not so satisfied with our caesars at the paddlewheeler and want a redo at grouse with some nachos and beer!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Carolyn

Tweetle dee, Tweetle dum

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


