A bunch of new stuff

September 3, 2010 at 10:07 am 3 comments

The past few days have brought a whole bunch of new stuff.

New recipes

vegan blueberry crisp

I kind of made this up as I went along and didn’t measure anything- I’m not going to culinary school any time soon! The filling is just bluebs, a squirt of lemon juice, and a couple tablespoons of raw cane sugar, and the topping is oats, a bit of whole wheat flour, some apple sauce, maple syrup and cinnamon. It’s pretty good, but I think I always compare blueberry desserts to my Grandma’s, and her’s are just WAY better tasting, and way less vegan.

New houseguests

oh hey, Alan!

– New personal victories- on Tuesday I ran to the top of QE park by myself! 10 km in 52 min.

– Hopefully a new tradition of running early on Wednesday and then hitting social night at Grouse Mountain. Andrea and Ev and I had an epic gossip sesh while we did the science world 10k route, and then headed up to the BCMC trail where our venting, ranting, and laughing continued. This was such a great day! It was the perfect time to hit the trail, with the sun just starting to go down, and doing the BCMC rather than the grind meant the trail wasn’t so busy. I also need to point out that this was Ev’s SECOND time climbing Grouse in the same day. – H…..C.

Once we got to the top, we literally got a whole bunch of new stuff in the social night draw prizes. The bounty included a new shirt for me, new oakley sunnies for Andrea, a new H20 bottle for Ev, and after an impromptu and embarrassing arm wrestling match (new sport, maybe?) with another girl in the bar, new weekend plans for everyone! Bye, fat ass trail run, hello Live at Squamish music festival (priorities, people)! I am SO excited! Thanks so much, babes, for a hilarious and awesome night!

– My first solo shift at my new volunteer position with Vancouver Coastal Health at the Pender Needle Exchange. I basically sit behind a takeout window on Pender and give out sterile syringes and accept used ones. This is something that is admitedly a bit out of my comfort zone, for obvious reasons, but harm reduction is something I feel really strongly about, and I apprecuate the “no judgement” and “no strings attached” attitude the program takes- it just provides a means for people to do safer what they will find a way to do one way or another. And it’s actually a pretty sweet gig for someone who is passionate about public health but decidedly lazy. I gave out 2 needles in approximately 2 hours, and read 2 chapters of my book. And also some new literature…

new storm warnings– careful everyone at home, and my second home in North Carolina!

hello, Earl

– and finally, the new phase of the marathon training, aka THE TRACK. Going by our 5km times from last week, we hit the ghetto Hamber track for 4 x 1000m. I’ve previously described my relationship with the track as “hate”, but it’s more complicated than that. There is definitely some comfort in repetition for some reason (hello, swimming). I find track workouts to be a bit of an inner struggle, in that I want to be smart and stick to my pace goal (4:20/km), but also want to push myself and keep up with the pack! In the end, my splits were

1. 4:07

2. 4:10

3. 4:06

4. 4:02

Obviously a bit faster than 4:20, but I figured as long as I could be consistent it was fine (Dave? Is this fine?). I REALLY tried to think about technique during these, and kept repeating in my head, “easy, light, smooth, fast” (thanks, Aly, for returning Born to Run!), but at one point got a glimpse of my shadow and realized by body was conveying none of these things! Great job last night, everyone!

Continuing with the ‘new stuff’ theme, tonight we venture to a new dance floor. Hope Honey can handle us!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

And then there were three Cute-iful

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. runnersgut  |  September 4, 2010 at 5:57 am

    Carrreeee!
    First off QE by yourself.. Wooahhhzaa.. That is beyond amazing! And that blueby crisp looks glorious.. I wish I could come steal some 😦
    Miss you already.. have fun running tommorow 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. amelia  |  September 4, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Thanks for the crack saftey. Do you think you could pick me up a re-usuable mouthpiece. Can’t find any around here.
    xoxox

    Reply
  • 3. Jenn  |  September 6, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    happy to see that you are still diligently following the NHC website as closely as i am : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Carolyn

Tweetle dee, Tweetle dum

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


