Cute-iful

September 9, 2010 at 10:06 am 2 comments

This past weekend was pretty much the opposite of running, as Andrea, Evelyn and I ventured out of town for the Live at Squamish music fest. Important scientific experiments were conducted (for the record, taste tests revealed we all like different Granville Island Beers, and can thus continue to purchase the ‘Mingler’ pack, and also that we have mediocre ability to identify specific brews with our eyes closed).

…….

My favourite performers were people I didn’t really know before, like The Dudes (amazing!) and Michael Bernard Fitzgerald. It was such a weird feeling to roll out of bed on Sunday and not head out running! It made the whole day feel bizarre and off (continuing ‘taste tests’ may have contributed to this feeling). We still had the obligatory Sunday Brunch, where we discussed what non-runners do on Sundays, and thought of everyone at Broadway who had run several kilometers while we were still asleep. Thanks, girls, for such a fun weekend! You are both so “cute-iful” (as one classy guy at the fest described Evelyn).

………Like the H.C. marathoners we are, we dragged our butts out in the pouring rain on Monday for the long run we missed. After a weekend of sitting around drinking, I was feeling sluggish to say the least. I seriously felt like I had lost all my fitness in a matter of days! Thank goodness for running buddies, as I don’t know if I would have had the motivation to leave my house pound out this run if I didn’t know people were waiting for me! Although it was a drop back week, this route (a figure 8 up QE hill and then over to UBC) was really tough, as there were some really tough climbs in there. In the end our mobile wet t-shirt contest got 23km done in 2:09. Sorry I was so cranky/worst running company ever?

I was feeling much better for our run club run last night. I felt like the group was huge, and it was fun to be reunited after missing the weekend! We ran the Blenheim-Highbury-Point Grey 10km route in 51 min. I’ve been trying to think about technique a lot lately, as I’ve been battling a little knee pain (nothing serious) and am hoping there’s a biomechanical fix. I also bought ‘the stick’ I’ve been coveting at RR (essentially a glorified rolling pin for rolling out muscles) and am hoping to sort out some of my tightness in my legs. We had a talk on massage therapy last thursday, which totally reminded me I have been slacking in the self-care department- contrast showers, icing, core work and stretching have sort have fallen to the wayside, but with a month out until Victoria I need to make a commitment to these non-running elements of training.

Tonight we’re back at the track (efff).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A bunch of new stuff Stylish Speedsters

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  September 9, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Ugh! I hate the track! Just finished this clinic’s first session of speed intervals and am seriously counting down the days until we have to do no more!

    Reply
  • 2. amelia  |  September 9, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    have fun at the trackie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweetle dee, Tweetle dum

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


