the time warp

September 27, 2010 at 2:24 pm 4 comments

back to the '80s

This past weekend, we traveled back in time for an ’80s themed charity dodgeball tournament (resulting in one half of my body feeling like it was in a car accident- throwing is hard). Alan, please grow an actual mustache like the one you are wearing in this pic. It’s very endearing. Question: When will side pony tails come back in style? Answer: Not soon enough.

The ’80s continued into the night at the tourney after party, and I am officially going booze-free until the marathon. No, really this time. The 26km run the next morning was a snap back to reality- the good times of the ’80s were over and I was feeling  sluggish. I warned Andrea around km 1.5 that I would be running in silence from there on out. Thanks for understanding, girlfriend. In the end we got just shy of 26km with a 5:29/km pace. Speaking of time warps, I can’t believe we’re tapering already! I feel like the marathon really snuck up on me, but at the same time I am feeling ready and excited. And INSPIRED after hearing clinic member Christina busted out a 3:26 marathon in Toronto, knocking 20 minutes off her time from Van. CONGRATS, girl!

In other news, I have successfully stayed in 1 city for a year! Happy anniversary to us, Vancouver! Can’t believe how fast this year went by! In the past 12 months, I…

– Moved over 4000km across the country

– Swam in the pacific for the first time!

– Entered my ‘mid-twenties’… eek!

– Ran my first marathon, and am days away from my 2nd!

– Competed in several road races and my very first trail races,  loved them all, and covered my fridge with race bibs (yes, that is also a photo of the main guy from glee with his shirt open on my fridge. please don’t judge me. there is also a photo of Peter Mansbridge somewhere there too)

– Taught a 10k running clinic

– Took a french class

– Wrote a section of labour market study on green jobs in BC for the Globe Foundation of Canada

– Volunteered for the David Suzuki Foundation, Camp Moomba, and Vancouver Coastal Health

– Attended Olympic events, celebrated Canada in the streets, and had nachos and beer for supper for 16 nights straight (new Olympic endurance event?)

– Watched my big sis get married!

– Had a career epiphany, studied for and wrote a super hard test, and applied to go back to school (med schools please accept me?)

– Made an awesome group of running buddies/life buddies

It’s been a really awesome, speedy, introspective, rewarding, and FUN year for me, and I am so thankful for all these experiences, and many more to come!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PB and J Final Countdown

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Evelyn  |  September 27, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    whoa…. you have had quite a year, care! well done! and um… if my hair were only a little longer i would be rocking the side pony right with you girl! give me a couple of months!

    Reply
  • 2. amelia  |  September 28, 2010 at 6:13 am

    Umm… you forgot to put down when Max died. I thought he was your inspiration for all of these achievements??

    Reply
    • 3. carolynmr  |  September 28, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      come on amelia, i am trying to focus on the positive. that wound is still fresh

      Reply
  • 4. Ttttappper time « The Road to Boston  |  October 2, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    […] I wasn’t the only one feeling like crap as Carolyn, Evelyn and Jason had attended a 80s themed party the night before. Misery loves company right? During this run, I contemplated giving […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Carolyn

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


