Gully 34km- aka emotional roller coaster

March 2, 2011 at 12:34 pm 3 comments

After a lovely weekend on Cypress with my running buddies, I was wracked with guilt for ditching the Sunday long run! Ok that’s not really true. But after two pretty slack weeks in a row, I wanted to get my mileage back up, and felt like Dave was dangling a challenge with all the hype about the infamous “Gully Run.” Enter my longest solo run ever, which was somewhat of a physical and emotional roller coaster, but overall pretty epic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The play by play:

Kilometers 0-5: Everything great. Sun shining. In love with Vancouver and life.

Kilometers 5-8: WTF. I am in a blizzard. Sidewalks are slippery. Vancouver drivers are maniacal. Majorly regretting wearing short shorts.

Kilometer 12: QE Park. Blizzard conditions have subsided. Ok this isn’t so bad afterall, major hills behind me, but I’m soaking wet and freezing.

Kilometer 17: West 16th ave. Halfway! Sooo cold. Spontaneous detour for pit stop at home to put on warmer clothes. In and out in 1 minute.

Kilometer 20: Dunbar and West 16th. Garmin is dead?! Secretly happy, can now run as slow as I want.

West 16th-West 26th: Forgot there were going to be hills after QE Park. Rageful.

West 26th-41st: Downhill is awesome. Have literally never been to this part of Vancouver. When did it get dark out?

West 29th: The directions I wrote down are terrible. Is this Imperial? Or is THAT Imperial? Does 29th just become Imperial? (For the record, yes it does.) So frustrated and confused. Taking scary dark road by park. Might be crying. This new Adele album is really heartbreaking! Need more reflective gear/headlamp.

West 16th: Phew made right decision. So relieved to know where I am again. Guessing I have 8-10km to go? Chocolate gel, all is right with the world.

West 8th and Blanca: It’s mostly downhill from here, right? I can do it! Calves aching. Dreaming of chocolate milk from Timmy Hos that I will be getting post run.

West 7th and Fir: Last push! Hips getting sore, but feeling strong! Can see warm inviting glow from Tim Hortons.

Broadway and Fir: Made it! 34km! So proud, I am a beast afterall! Realize I left chocolate milk money in shorts at pit stop. Devastated.

All in all, a solo long run wasn’t actually as bad as I thought it would be, with the exception of briefly getting lost! I definitely missed my crew though, and am thankful I’ll have company this coming Sunday!

Either need a printer for Dave's directions, or better penmanship

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

oh yeah, i have a blog Extreme tapering

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amelia  |  March 2, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    hahaha so great. you are a rockstar. i am in awe. miss you soo much

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea  |  March 3, 2011 at 10:17 am

    Okay, I downloaded the Adele album today and basically want to slit my wrists now. I have no idea how you did this run, while listening to Adele, and didn’t just lie down in one of the gullies??

    Further proof you are amazing!

    PS. Wish we’d bought you a printer for your birthday! Dropped the ball on that.

    Reply
  • 3. krisandnotsodeepthoughts  |  March 4, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    You are amazing. I cannot believe you did the Gully Run solo. Even with running buddies, that was one tough run!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Carolyn

Tweetle dee, Tweetle dum

Training!

Fitness Training Log

Categories


